CNS Almirante Latorre Makes Port Call in Punta Arenas

May 2, 2021 (Google Translation) – During the morning of Saturday, May 1, the Frigate “Almirante Latorre” arrived at the Prat Pier in the city of Punta Arenas, as part of a routine training deployment operation in the Austral theater of operations, which the National Squad Units perform periodically.

The “Latorre” frigate is an Adelaide class combat unit, recently acquired from the Royal Australian Navy. It has the ability to operate in a wide spectrum of naval operations, ranging from naval warfare to normal peacetime activities carried out by the Chilean Navy.

With a base port in Valparaíso, the National Squadron is the main and most important Operational Force of the Institution, being made up of combat and logistical support ships. The Unit will join the activities to start a new Month of the Sea, and will remain in the Third Naval Zone for a period of three weeks.

Frigate Captain Rafael Letelier, Unit Commander commented that, “our ship is in the city as part of a routine training and deployment operation that the National Squadron Units carry out periodically, where our crew can carry out in one of the the most challenging areas of our maritime geography, which reinforces the deterrence capacity by maintaining a powerful and credible naval force while supporting the isolated areas of Magallanes ”.

He also added that, “for health security reasons, the crew has complied with a series of previous preventive quarantines and during this commission they will not be able to descend into the city of Punta Arenas,” concluded Commander Letelier.

This Monday, May 3, at 5:00 p.m. (4:00 p.m. Continental Chile) and on board the OPV 83 “Marinero Fuentealba”, the “Month of the Sea 2021” will begin in the city of Punta Arenas. The ceremony, which will be transmitted via streaming on the Institution’s social networks, will be attended by the Minister of National Defense, Baldo Prokurica, the Commander-in-Chief of the Navy, Admiral Julio Leiva, and the participation of academics Mateo Martinic, Teodoro Ribera. and José Retamales.

Related posts